susansflowers

garden ponderings

Flowers in the Vegetable Garden

3 Comments

Copy of DSCN3524
Strawberry plants are looking great.  I pick a couple of pints every morning.  My favorite ways to eat these summer gems is on a bowl of granola for breakfast, and on a dinner salad.  M-m-m, tasty!
Any extras get frozen on a cookie sheet and put away to be enjoyed in winter.
* * * * *
Copy of DSCN3527 Copy of DSCN3535Summer squash is just getting going, I like mine small, young & tender.
A friend was surprised with a few zucchini at her front door the other morning.
The zuke elves are starting their rounds, watch out!
* * * * *
Copy of DSCN3528 Copy of DSCN3536I’ve picked only a very few cherry-size tomatoes, and not one green bean – yet.
The best is yet to come in these departments.
* * * * *
Copy of DSCN3530 Copy of DSCN3548Baby, red leaf, butter lettuce gone to seed is not necessarily glamorous.
The dandelion-looking fuzz balls are their flowers gone-to-seed.
Close-up the flowers are kind of cute.
* * * * *
Copy of DSCN3538I try to keep flowers pinched from all my basil plants, as it is the leaves that are used.  Thai basil has the prettiest purple flower buds, and a few blossoms opened before they were pruned.
These leaves get dried to add flavor to curry dinners all winter long.
* * * * *
Copy of DSCN3531Amaranth is new to me, and I’m not sure how much larger the flower will grow.  There are around a dozen plants, each about a yard (a meter) tall.
I keep checking this one, there is much for me to learn here.
* * * * *
Copy of DSCN3526 DSCN3549Melons are such a gamble to harvest here.  Will the heat continue through August and September?  Since it is still July, it looks like this could be a good year.  Cantaloupe or rockmelon are the size of a large orange, so far.  Smooth-skin melons usually take longer to mature, but this one is on its way, also.
* * * * *
And last, but hardly least, are a couple of my own garden nemeses:
Copy of DSCN3546
Copy of DSCN3547
Someone was just here extolling the beauty of Queen Anne’s lace in the fields, and I objected.  The flowers are not evil themselves, but when they go to seed, the trouble starts.  It is a test of my patience to pick the burrs out of kids and my own socks.
The yellow flowers are not dandelions, but I would not be surprised to learn they are close cousins, as the flowers turn to fuzz-balls when they go to seed.

Author: susanpots

potter, gardener of flowers and vegies

3 thoughts on “Flowers in the Vegetable Garden

  1. The strawberries look delicious ! Indeed, they are really good in a salad, I cannot agree more ! With a bit of balsamic vinegar. I also love to eat them in natural yogurt in the morning. I’ve never tried freezing them, are they good afterwards ?

  2. I freeze my strawberries on a cookie sheet, then store them in zip-loc bags.
    We love frozen berries in morning fruit smoothies – usually with banana, yogurt, juice and another fruit as kiwi or mango.

Leave a Reply

