susansflowers

garden ponderings

Black-Eye Susans – Rudbeckia

2 Comments

Copy of DSCN3617
While these flowers are not named after me, I like to think they are 😉
Of course, I had to have some in my garden.

Actually, they are quite welcome, since they bloom later in summer and are drought-resistant.  On the down side they do not respect boundaries, and spread easily.  The wandering roots can be a plus if one is trying to fill space in a flower bed, but they just do not know when to stop!

I wish they were deer-resistant, also.
Hey, this is what I can try:  in winter (the rainy season) I will move the invasive individuals outside of a protected area to the hinterlands (what I call the further edges of my yard).  This way I can learn for myself whether local deer find rudbeckia irresistible, somewhat tasty or just leave it alone.
Copy of DSCN3619

Author: susanpots

potter, gardener of flowers and vegies

2 thoughts on “Black-Eye Susans – Rudbeckia

  1. Beautiful as always, thank you!

Leave a Reply

