susansflowers

garden ponderings

Mystery Flower

5 Comments

Mystery Flower

I wish I knew the name of these flowers.
They bloom very early, about the same time as crocus – except I see them in between the violets. The more recent blooms are more purple, while they fade to a paler lavender color as they age.

I thought I planted a handful of small bulbs a few years ago, now they are coming up all around a particular area. Are the small animals spreading them? Or is it the birds? Could they have gone to seed as many of my flowers do? But bulbs don’t spread by going to seed. I suppose I could dig one up to determine if they truly are bulbs. But I think I like them as they are, so they will stay and keep the violets company.

Author: susanpots

potter, gardener of flowers and vegies

5 thoughts on “Mystery Flower

  1. I’m not sure if anyone else identified them for you or not, but I believe they are a type of anemone, also called windflowers. They are more commonly found in a larger flower that looks a bit like a poppy.

    • Thank you. I will look up windflower.
      I am guilty of planting things, then forgetting what or when I planted it. Sometimes it takes a few years for a plant to get established, then it’s name tag is long lost.

  2. Thanks for the help. I looked up windflower and learned these are Anemone Blanda, commonly called recian or winter windflower. The wikipedia description fit it exactly. It does like to spread around. I wonder if the deer or rabbits would like it? If I get a little caught up with my planting, I will move this outside one of the ‘flower-jails’ to find out if it can survive the varmits.

  3. Whoops, commonly called Grecian or winter windflower. I need to check my typing before posting:)

Leave a Reply

