susansflowers

garden ponderings

Hyacinths with Garden Goddess

Leave a comment

Hyacinths with Garden Goddess

I love taking photos of hyacinths, as I get to inhale their fabulous aroma. Okay, to some people it is sort of a strong scent, but not for me.

For a number of years, I sold hyacinths with hand-thrown vases for forcing blooms. These were sold before Christmas, with pre-cooled bulbs, that were immediately ready to be set up for forced blooming in January (or so). Of course, I had to try this out at home before I could sell any. And, of course, there were extra bulbs most years for me to force myself. And, of course, I would plant in my yard the spent bulb from forcing. Needless to say, I now have a good number of hyacinth blooming in my yard. Most are white, with some blues and purples, as these are the best colors for forcing.

Do you see the garden goddess behind the blooms? I make and sell Goddess Vases, and one year I decided to make Garden Goddesses. They have a good size hole in the bottom of the vase through which Japanese Iris can emerge and bloom. Perhaps I’ll get a photo of those later in the season.

Author: susanpots

potter, gardener of flowers and vegies

Leave a Reply

