susansflowers

garden ponderings

Milkweed & Monarchs

3 Comments

img_0456

Last summer, I attended a workshop on attracting Monarch butterflies to your garden.
I purchased these seed packets of Milkweed seeds to plant in the dormant season.

Today, I planted my seeds along fence lines in 3 separate areas.
This is to insure the seeds will come up in at least one bed.

I have since read that Milkweed grows ‘like a weed’ in certain areas.
I truly hope I have not gone over the line,
and introduced any more invasive plants in my locale.

Author: susanpots

potter, gardener of flowers and vegies

3 thoughts on “Milkweed & Monarchs

  1. Asclepias speciosa is a native of your region, I’m guessing that’s what the speciosa milkweed is. Not sure about the incarnata, too bad the seed pack label doesn’t have genus/species. You are helping the butterflies in any case.

  2. I recently read the the Monarch butterfly populations have decreased by 90%. So if your milkweed grows like weeds … you will doing good things for the butterflies …. so good luck!

Leave a Reply

