susansflowers

garden ponderings

New Year Snow, It is Beautiful

2 Comments

We awoke to snow falling, what a way to start the new year!
I measured 4″ (10 cm).The violets are always such a pleasant surprise to me.

* * * * *
img_07601
The snow looked especially pretty on this Contorted Filbert bush (aka:  Harry Lauder’s Walking Stick or Corkscrew Hazel) and the bricks.
The snow shows up the deer fence, including the fence behind on the ground,
which protects plants growing on the embankment behind.
Under the behind fences are thriving California poppies and struggling daylilies.

* * * * *

The snow was quite wet and many plants were drooping from the weight of the snow.
I got a broom and walked around the house, knocking snow off branches.
Here are before and after photos of my Rosemary bush,
she is much happier after snow removal.

* * * * *
img_07621
There are two rhododendron bushes in this photo.
I keep pruning the one on the left, as it grows prolifically.
The specimen on the right has its growth eternally challenged.
Many years ago, our dog’s favorite place to lay was under this particular bush,
but that dog has been gone over 10 years, and the plant has not really bounced back.
I made sure to brush snow from its branches to give it every chance I can.

Author: susanpots

potter, gardener of flowers and vegies

2 thoughts on “New Year Snow, It is Beautiful

  1. I haven’t seen any snow this year yet… it’s unbelievably warm for the season. It’s hard to believe it’s January. Your garden looks lovely buried under the snow and I love the little violet peeking through 🙂

  2. Today our snow is minimal. My main concern is our water feature. We were supposed to have it drained and cleaned since silt has gotten too thick and I have given up on tree frogs. Of course, now it is too cold to get any one out here to work on it. My intent is to call and ask it I can turn
    off the pump… I am quite sure the answer is no.

Leave a Reply

