susansflowers

garden ponderings

Going, going, almost gone

2 Comments

There was an entire bed of artichoke flowers.
Of course, not all at once, so I was able to enjoy them for awhile.
DSCN5643

The outer leaves are prickly, but the inner purple part is so-o soft.
I cut and dried many of these blossoms.  The stems are quite sturdy,
thus they can dry upright.
* * * * *
DSCN5671
Last of the lilies.
These are some of my favorite summer flowers, so showy.
* * * * *
DSCN5703
I have dead-headed most of my hyssop plants, but this moth found one of the last flowers.  When the plant is in full bloom, the insects love it.
* * * * *

Mexican oregano, outside my front door is part of the kitchen herb garden.
These white flowers are also, very popular with bees and moths.

The small leaves of Greek oregano are more pungent than the larger leafed Mexican variety.  I dried this type for use this winter.  Not many of the pink flowers remain.
DSCN5698

Author: susanpots

potter, gardener of flowers and vegies

2 thoughts on “Going, going, almost gone

  1. Do the blooms, (the purple portions) of the artichoke dry well … if so it must make a rather striking dried flower.

    • Artichoke flowers dry easily. The stems are so strong, I dry them vertically. I’ve noticed last years dried flowers look a bit brownish next to this years, so I composted the old ones.

Leave a Reply

