susansflowers

garden ponderings

Wildflower Show

2 Comments

For over 50 years the tiny community of Glide, Oregon, has hosted an annual wildflower show.  Presented by a committee of volunteers I was amazed when I first saw it.
I have been fortunate to help collect specimens for 3 years, and my knowledge of the wildflowers has grown exponentially.  I’m starting to recognize and remember some of the Latin and many common names, also!

DSCN5104
Plants are arranged in families on the tables, in order of evolutionary development of the plant’s reproductive structures.  Who’da thought of such an organizational system?
* * * * *

Such a large and unusual flower, I wanted to share it.
From the map, I can tell that it is found in the higher mountains.
* * * * *
DSCN5100
We found these pinks in a small meadow, off the beaten track at a county park.
My collecting partner knew where to look.
* * * * *
DSCN5110
These azaleas smelled heavenly.
* * * * *

DSCN5112

Such pretty little flowers.  The name would make a cool title for a book, wouldn’t it?
* * * * *

DSCN5115
I’ve been pulling this out of my flower garden for a long time.  Now that I know its name, and that it is an official wildflower, I can no longer treat it so rudely.
Notwithstanding the strange common name, it is not unattractive and does not seem to be invasive, so some can stay.
* * * * *

DSCN5116
Isn’t this one of the strangest ‘flowers’ you have ever seen?
A friend had emailed me a photo of this ground cone, they had seen while bird-watching in Northern California.  She asked me to find its name.  I joked to her that it might just be an odd looking mushroom.  But now, we have both learned it is a real plant.
* * * * *

DSCN5123

These leaves (which come in different sizes) have little flowers growing up on the leaf, opposite side of the stem.  Now, I notice this on my property.
* * * * *

DSCN5124

I know equisetum because of its use on pots when high-firing.  It is high in silica & calcium, which are common glaze ingredients.
* * * * *

For those who stuck with me through this longer than usual post, thank you.
You can feel my enthusiasm.

Author: susanpots

potter, gardener of flowers and vegies

2 thoughts on “Wildflower Show

  1. I want to get back to this wild flower show. There is nothing that can compare. Hope that I can find someone to travel with me. Perhaps Karen would like to go next year.

  2. Nice pictures, cool flowers! I believe Linnaeus and Darwin get some credit for coming up with botanical and evolutionary organizational systems. I saw some sort of broomrape hiking in the Appalachians last weekend, they are odd. Oh, and there is a classic novel called The Scarlet Pimpernel, might be worth adding to your reading list. Also, keep pulling the red deadnettle, it is an invasive species (see on the sign, it’s nonnative, comes from Europe). Some wildflowers are weeds.

Leave a Reply

