susansflowers

garden ponderings

Autumn has Definitely Arrived

3 Comments

Copy of DSCN4144
Some of these Sugar Maple leaves have been moved to cover beds in the vegetable garden for the winter.  Today’s agenda includes:  to finish moving this pile before expected rain comes tomorrow (unless I get side-tracked. . .).  You can see there are plenty more leaves to come!
* * * * *
DSCN4146

We enjoyed a long hot summer.  Grew delicious melons that rarely mature in the hills where I live – farmers really are gamblers!
Our lack of rain has been sorely felt by the trees.  On the right, above, is a dead cedar tree just next to a thriving one.  To the left is a fir tree slowly dying.  There are too many more like these.  To me, the saddest part is the quantity of very large (over 40 years old) fir trees that are dead and dying.  We will have to pay an accomplished tree faller to cut the dead ones without hurting live trees nearby.
* * * * *
On a lighter note, I learned something about drying amaranth flowers.
DSCN4142
What was I thinking when I lay the fresh flowers in this position to dry?
As you can see, they stay in the same position after drying!
Copy of DSCN4143
This drying position should give flowers that will display much nicer!

Author: susanpots

potter, gardener of flowers and vegies

3 thoughts on “Autumn has Definitely Arrived

  1. So beautiful!! You have so much beauty around you!! How great that is this time of year!!

  2. I envy you, it looks so beautiful.

  3. Thank you, both of you. For the past few years, I had a garden helper sometimes. This year I have been on my own. Will be looking harder for a new helper next year, as I can feel my body getting a bit older!

Leave a Reply

