susansflowers

garden ponderings

Helianthus Has Issues

Leave a comment

Copy of DSCN4001
These beautiful flowers in the sunflower family were planted 5 – 10 years ago, and have had bug problems ever since.
Pictured here are plants that were moved to the south side of my house.
They are doing much better than the original location in sun all day long.
Copy of DSCN4003
See the flowers here that are missing petals?
Some thing has made these blossoms incomplete.
I do not know the infestation that is devastating these flowers.
Copy of DSCN4002
At times, I thought I could see the insects eating the petals, now I throw my hands up in confusion.  I cannot figure out what is going on.
I’m sure I will dig out the other batch of flowers, and give these another year to live and redeem themselves.  Only out of sheer frustration.

Author: susanpots

potter, gardener of flowers and vegies

Leave a Reply

