susansflowers

garden ponderings

A Proliferation of Purple and Pink

3 Comments

Copy of DSCN3253
Lamb’s Ear makes a lovely ground cover and cut flower.
It can be invasive, which I control with minimal watering.
Another perk of this plant is that deer ignore it.
* * * * *

Copy of DSCN3247
Lavender looks so pretty when in bloom!
I fell in love with the view of a hillside of lavender and have been slowly moving seedlings (if you don’t deadhead lavender, it loves to go to seed) into a pattern on the downhill side of my house.
This has turned into a slow project, but one I have had fun pursuing.
* * * * *
Copy of DSCN3188
This perennial geranium is a cranesbill.  Such a funny name.
It too will reseed, and I cannot imagine deadheading these small flowers.
The baby plants are easy to discard, if you don’t want to share them with other gardeners.
* * * * *
Copy of DSCN3198
These sage flowers were tricky to photograph.  I finally discovered the perfect background was right in front of me.
This is a yearling plant that I purchased when I noticed the original was looking a little feeble.  Sure enough, this spring, only one came back to life.
* * * * *
DSCN3290
When I started flower gardening, I planted many garlic cloves in an effort to deter deer from nibbling my greenery.
Now that fences (flower jails :-))have been erected around vulnerable plantings, the garlic is not so needed.
But, they are rather pretty at this stage of life.

Author: susanpots

potter, gardener of flowers and vegies

3 thoughts on “A Proliferation of Purple and Pink

  1. Wow Sue! Your flowers are lovely! I can’t believe all the time you’ve taken to do this! This is so amazing! Now I know where to turn when I want to plant things!

Leave a Reply

