susansflowers

garden ponderings

Chionodoxa or Glory of the Snow

6 Comments

??????????
This is one of our favorite reliable bulbs here.  The leaves emerge in November or so, and give some needed greenery along the front of many flower beds until the flowers bloom in spring.  Then we get rows of beautiful light blue blossoms.
These bulbs have multiplied profusely, they have been shared and divided many times.  I love the aroma they emit when I pull weeds that try to live amongst these small plants.
??????????

Chionodoxa are lush in front of these bricks, they will be ready to divide in another year.  As these bulbs grow too thick through the years, they get divided to edge another bed.
I have read that deer and animals are supposed to ignore these plants, probably because of their scent.  The local animals have not read the same gardening book, as I always find some nibbles on the greenery.
Remembering the name of these cute little flowers, has always been a challenge for me.  A search in a catalog of spring bulbs brings it back to mind.

Author: susanpots

potter, gardener of flowers and vegies

6 thoughts on “Chionodoxa or Glory of the Snow

  1. They look lovely – I’ll definitely need to plant some of these for next year. I have a terrible squirrel problem – bulb munchers and digging things up. I’m also going to try netting

    • They are easy care. It is funny that it is not unusual to find the bulbs in places I did not plant them. Perhaps my shovel moves them around, when I am shoveling another plant. Or, the animals are known to move bulbs around in the ground. I don’t think animals will eat these bulbs too much, as they are aromatic. Not strong or offensive to humans, but hopefully to the animals.

  2. Beautiful! I had no idea deer don’t particularly like their smell. That can be useful in case you have animals which love to turn your gorgeous plants into a meal 🙂 It happened to me, to lose a few tulip bulbs. Not sure which creature decided to dig a few holes and eat them. I read on the internet that in order to prevent this, you should plant other types of bulbs as well, between the tulips, to push away rodents. (it looks like they enjoy the tulips in particular) I’ll keep it in mind for next year! Thank you for sharing!

    • In my experience, tulips and roses are like chocolate to deer. I would be very interested to hear how successful your plan to interplant bulbs works out. I have had marginal success with trying to hide daylilies from deer:-)

      • Great job! I must say I have zero gardening skills, but I love plants very much, so I am willing to try. I moved to a house with a yard only last year, so it’s all been: ‘Aww I want some of those. Let’s plant’ 🙂 I can see the tulip leaves are just coming out so I’m keeping my fingers crossed. I guess love is enough, because that’s all I have for now 🙂

  3. I think spring bulbs are a very easy way to begin a garden. All one does is put them in the ground in the fall, and wait until after winter for the beautiful surprises.

    If there is a problem with squirrels or other small animals, I’ve heard you can plant bulbs in a wire enclosure that has openings too small for the animals to enter. I always find flower bulbs in places I know I did not plant them. Of course, it must be the mice that move them around!

Leave a Reply

