susansflowers

garden ponderings

Early Iris

2 Comments

Copy of DSCN1890

Early iris sure are short in stature, just like the bulb catalog claims.  It has been relatively warm and sunny for February, with the temps in the low 50 degrees F (barely over 10 degrees C).  Since the sun has come out the last couple of afternoons, the plants are basking in it.

These blooms were open in the early morning fog, while the crocus stayed closed.

Through the years I have planted so many bulbs in the ground.  Now, I have no idea what will come up where.  If I move a perennial from one location to another in a flower bed, too often, I find I have sliced bulbs with my shovel.  One time, I moved crocus bulbs to encircle perennials to solve over-crowding.  Then I intermixed some tulip bulbs with the crocus.  Now I find those, and other bulbs, showing up in interesting places.  I’ve heard of small animals, as mice and voles, moving bulbs around underground.  It seems to me, the rodents must see the bulbs as winter food to be stashed in case of need.

Author: susanpots

potter, gardener of flowers and vegies

2 thoughts on “Early Iris

  1. Signs of spring are turning into small billboards around here. Seeing the flowers starting to bloom always lifts my spirits. I loved seeing your snow, I think it is the in between snow and sun that can drag on.

Leave a Reply

