susansflowers

garden ponderings

Winter Violets not Shrinking

Leave a comment

??????????

These small flowers have been such a challenge for me to photograph in focus.  I’m not sure what I did different, perhaps it was the time of day, the time of year, whatever!  It worked.

Since the first starts were planted long ago, these flowers have taken off in my yard.  They go dormant in the summer if they don’t get irrigation, but are in their prime in the wintertime.  What a pleasure they are to see, when there is absolutely nothing else in bloom.  We’ve even seen violets popping their heads out in the snow.

An elderly neighbor gave me a shovel-full of these violets from her yard, over thirty years ago.  She has long since passed away, and her garden fell into neglect.  I feel like her garden lives on at my house, as I inherited a number of other plants of hers over the years.

Author: susanpots

potter, gardener of flowers and vegies

Leave a Reply

