susansflowers

garden ponderings

Cactus Flowers at Red Rock Canyon

3 Comments

Copy of 119 Copy of 125

These beautiful, delicate appearing flowers grow on such unlikely and strange looking plants: Prickly Pear Cactus.  I have seen the ‘leaves’ called Nopales in the grocery store, but have never tasted one myself.
I photographed these cacti in Red Rock Canyon National Conservation Area just outside Las Vegas, Nevada.  After years of visits to “sin city” (my mother grew up there, and I have many relatives still living in this city), my first visit to this ancient protected area was in May of this year.  I will definitely return here whenever I am in the area, it is worth visiting over and over again.

In response to The Daily Post’s weekly photo challenge: “Yellow.”

Author: susanpots

potter, gardener of flowers and vegies

3 thoughts on “Cactus Flowers at Red Rock Canyon

  1. Simply Gorgeous! Thanks!

  2. Interesting … I am wondering if this Spring would provide blooms. The weather has been so strange everywhere. As I am writing this, the temperature on our deck is just 20 degrees!

  3. I have been waiting for the extended freezing weather here, as the weeds have been proliferating! My thought is that the colder weather might either kill the weeds or slow their growth significantly. Is this what global warming will give us? Tons more weeds?

Leave a Reply

