susansflowers

garden ponderings

Artemisia – Wormwood

2 Comments

??????????

This is such a cool looking plant!  When I bought it at the nursery, I was looking for deer-resistant plants, and this seemed to have all the attributes.  It has silvery, fuzzy leaves and a scent that is supposed to discourage predators.  Well, the deer do keep this pruned, but it has more than survived.

Artemisia anchors a minor deer path just outside one of my fenced garden areas.  Does it sound funny to say a ‘minor’ deer path?  From experience, I’ve learned that deer, like many other herd-type animals, tend to walk along the same paths.  They have ‘major’ byways where the ground is stamped down strongly.  Then there are the ‘minor’, side roads which get used less often, but are pronounced.  Deer are browsers, or grazers, which means they nibble as they walk.  I believe this is a defense mechanism that makes them less vulnerable to attacks from predators.  Unless, of course, they find a banquet they cannot pass up.  But, I’m getting very sidetracked by talking about the deer and not the plant.  Where I live, they are very intertwined.

Author: susanpots

potter, gardener of flowers and vegies

2 thoughts on “Artemisia – Wormwood

  1. Your post set me to reading about Artemisia … many varieties and growth patterns. I would like to have it for flower arrangements … now to decide where I can plant it. I have not deer paths to guide me!

  2. I think you are on to something: artemisia would look very nice in flower arrangements.
    This plant might be able to grow to a larger shrub than at my place, if it is not pruned so often:)

Leave a Reply

