susansflowers

garden ponderings

Hollyhocks

3 Comments

?????????? ??????????

Hollyhocks were unknown to me until a woman friend gave me a handful of seeds.  I dutifully planted them and they grew and grew and grew some more.  These are by far the tallest flowers I have.  They have bloomed and reseeded for a number of years now.  This year the blossoms are far more meager than in previous years, and I wonder if the plants are just getting old and need to be started again.  I used to see stems-full of dark red flowers that I learned were an old-fashioned favorite.

In the second photo you can see where the deer have eaten everything off the hollyhock stems.  They have been pruning these plants for years now.  I just measured the deer fence at 4 feet (120 cm) high, and it is also 4 feet (120 cm, again) from the house wall.  While the deer could jump this height easily, the bed is full of plants with no landing space.  The fence is high enough to deter the deer from nibbling low stature plants.

Author: susanpots

potter, gardener of flowers and vegies

3 thoughts on “Hollyhocks

  1. As a child, I remember reading a story about a doll made of an inverted Hollyhock bloom and I have been enamored with Hollyhocks. But they do not do well in this wet climate … tend to rust.

  2. My partner and I stumbled over here coming from a different page and thought I might as well check things
    out. I like what I see so i am just following you.
    Look forward to going over your web page repeatedly.

Leave a Reply

