susansflowers

garden ponderings

Belladonna or Naked Lady Amaryllis

Leave a comment

??????????Copy of DSCN1127??????????

When I first saw the Naked Lady blossoms, I was very surprised that a flower could bloom without any leaves.  Then I learned the leaves emerged back in the springtime, and the flowers much later in the summer.  How strange.

Later a friend showed me a flower that grew in his garden that was named after his mother, Donna.   I thought is was cool that a grown man would love his mother so much, he wanted to have flowers that reminded him of her after she was gone.  He had many of these flowers growing and offered to share some bulbs.

I did not plant my samples wisely and am pleasantly surprised that one survived.  It really does need  a better location, then it would have a better chance to multiply.

My pictures show the flower emerging from the ground, the first bloom, then more on the same stem.  What a treat!  The helianthus are crowding this beauty and need to be thinned.   Another garden project for after the rains soften the ground.

Author: susanpots

potter, gardener of flowers and vegies

Leave a Reply

