susansflowers

garden ponderings

Dipladenia Rio

3 Comments

Dipladenia Rio ??????????

My husband brought this home one day, because he thought it had pretty flowers.  When I read the tag, I saw that it is not considered a perennial here and would probably not make it through the winter.  I don’t like to bother planting plants that are known to have a slim to none chance of surviving winter, but I happened to find a place on an irrigation line that it could settle in for at least the summer. 

Such attractive flowers, and it has been blooming for about a month with no sign of slowing down – that is until it gets too cold. 

Author: susanpots

potter, gardener of flowers and vegies

3 thoughts on “Dipladenia Rio

  1. Beautiful 🌺🌺🌺

  2. It does have lovely flowers. I read a bit about it in my Sunset Garden book. Mandevilla …”includes plants formerly called Dipladenia”. ..my goodness … that sounds like a perfectly good name. Wonder why it was changed.

    • I understand that botanists are changing a number of plant names as they can now use DNA to determine which family a plant belongs to. The tag on the plant actually read dipladnia – for what that is worth. Maybe the nursery just had a bunch of old tags they wanted to use up?!

Leave a Reply

