susansflowers

garden ponderings

Dahlia

2 Comments

??????????

These plants come in all sizes and heights, and some people specialize in growing only dahlia flowers.

I picked up a few bulbs on sale a couple of years ago, and planted them in different locations in my garden.  In my climate, I’ve read that you should dig up your dahlia bulbs in the fall, and replant them in the spring.  No way I can stay on top of that!  I promptly forgot that detail of plant care when the time came to do the job.  Two of four bulbs survived winter, and are just blooming now. 

Now that I know they can survive a winter, I’ll have to nurture them along some more.  I would like to see more of these flowers next summer.

Author: susanpots

potter, gardener of flowers and vegies

2 thoughts on “Dahlia

  1. Mom never dug her’s .. just made sure to put out slug bait early. I have a friend whose gardening philosophy is “if you can’t take it, you don”t belong”. I don’t know if she has dahlias.

Leave a Reply

