susansflowers

garden ponderings

Sweet Pea in Mini-Vase

1 Comment

??????????

I just love sweet peas.  So much that I planted an entire package of everlasting sweet peas.  Did that turn out to be a mistake!

The flowers were beautiful as they grew along a fence.  Deer kept them pruned on the outside of the wire fence, but there were still plenty of flowers to go around.  I picked handfuls to put in vases indoors, and there were still lots more flowers.  Which of course, meant lots of sweet pea seeds.  I collected seeds to strew along other wire fences, the flowers made even a wire fence look pretty.  It took another spring before we saw sweet peas coming up everywhere.  Not just along a fence line, but everyplace the ground had been stirred.  Between the birds and the wind, the sweet peas were on the verge of taking over everything. 

Then I remembered where I had seen sweet peas growing wild along roadsides.  They looked very pretty there, also.  But nothing else grew in the masses of sweet pea vines.  Very reluctantly, I took a shovel to the now unwanted plants.  It has taken a couple more years and I still find interlopers that need to be dug up.  The flower pictured was a surprise, and the plant was immediately put an end to.

I still love seeing sweet peas in the wild.  They were planted by someone, or the birds dropped a seed – all it takes is one seed in a favorable environment to start a colony of these flowers.  But I keep them out of my garden. 

Author: susanpots

potter, gardener of flowers and vegies

One thought on “Sweet Pea in Mini-Vase

Leave a Reply

