susansflowers

garden ponderings

Coreopsis

Leave a comment

??????????

These cute little flowers almost took over my garden one year.  Then I started pulling them up by their roots and cutting them back severely.  They are now under control and pop up in the most interesting places.  I let them live most of the time, now days.

It is amazing how a specific plant can take over in almost the blink of an eye.  I think it looks good where it is, and it reseeds freely – such a nice attribute in an almost empty flower bed.  From now on, I am on the lookout for a plant that seems too good to be true.  Which reminds me of a great old saying:  ‘if something seems too good to be true, it probably is too good to be true’.

Do not think I am totally disparaging this annual flower, I like many of its positive attributes.  Though I have learned from experience to not look the other way at a plant that seems to have it all.  As a mid-summer flower, the color blends in well with other blossoms here, and complements the greenery of spent flowering plants.

Author: susanpots

potter, gardener of flowers and vegies

Leave a Reply

