susansflowers

garden ponderings

Asiatic Tiger Lily

Leave a comment

Asiatic Tiger Lily

This is by far my favorite lily. I love it when it is not too hot and this flower comes into bloom. It means the flowers will stay longer. This year it is overcast with some rain showers, and the flowers love the weather.  With all the photos I’ve been taking of my flowers for this blog, I have documentation of how long they are staying in bloom.  Some varieties are staying around for a month or more.

I have found that the tall stems need to be tied up, as they are not strong enough to hold the blooms on their own. Perhaps the east facing location below the front deck has something to do with that, I don’t know.

The number of stems seems to have increased through the years. Last year, I stupidly put a clump of Japanese Iris next to these lilies, but now I see it is way too crowded. When the wet season comes, the irises will be moved – someplace, anyplace else. I want to have plenty of space for these lily bulbs to grow on their own.

Author: susanpots

potter, gardener of flowers and vegies

Leave a Reply

