susansflowers

garden ponderings

Lilies

Leave a comment

Lilies

The lilies are starting to bloom now – a true sign of summer. It appears to me that my plantings are increasing in flowers, though I do not count how many flowers there are every year. I was gone for a few days, and returned home to the surprise of lily blossoms. These were not the flowers I expected to bloom next.

Did you know that the name Susan means lily? I learned that at the first meeting of a group of Susans. We all brought a small gift to exchange, and our hostess gave a lily plant. I gave a Susan B Anthony dollar coin. It is funny how a train of thought can continue. I’ll stop while I’m ahead.

These are taller lily plants, about two feet high. One time I accidentally purchased bulbs for very small lilies. The plant grows about 6 inches high, and they don’t bloom every year. Sometimes I forget where they are located, and it is all I can do not to stomp them out.

Author: susanpots

potter, gardener of flowers and vegies

Leave a Reply

