susansflowers

garden ponderings

Foxglove

2 Comments

Foxglove

I am new to appreciating these old-time flowers and I just love them. They are beautiful, sturdy, drought- resistant and deer-resistant. What a perfect addition to my country garden. They grow and thrive under what would be stressful conditions for more fragile flowers.

They appear to be biennial, where the plant takes a year to establish itself, then flowers the next year. I can live with that. Now I want to pay attention to when the flowers go to seed, so I can spread the seeds to specific areas. I want to learn if they can actually repel the deer, or just waylay them. My long-term thought is to be able to put deer resistant plants around a more vulnerable shrub (like a lilac) and not have to fence the shrub from four-footed invaders.

Author: susanpots

potter, gardener of flowers and vegies

2 thoughts on “Foxglove

  1. Generally I don’t learn post on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up very pressured me to try and do so!
    Your writing style has been surprised me. Thank you, very
    great article.

Leave a Reply

