susansflowers

garden ponderings

Rosemary

3 Comments

Rosemary

It took a few tries to get a photo of these small flowers when the wind wasn’t moving them around. Most herbs wait until later in the season to flower, rosemary is the earliest that I know of.

Deer stay away from this plant, as they do most all aromatics. I love that feature in a plant while I am living here.

I’ve seen rosemary plants growing in all sorts of climates. My biggest surprise was when I saw a row of upright rosemary plants growing on a commercial side street in Las Vegas. These are very drought-resistant, and grow in various sizes from sprawling to a good-size shrub. A woman told me how she trained her rosemary plant in a round, not circle, shape using metal wire as a guide. I haven’t figured that out – yet. Give me a little more time.

Author: susanpots

potter, gardener of flowers and vegies

3 thoughts on “Rosemary

  1. Rosemary is one of my favorite herbs. I love the flowers. You have quite a crop of them…beautiful.

  2. And rosemary is so easy to grow, too.
    Have you ever tried cutting a spring of rosemary and putting it on top of a piece of salmon while it cooks? It is then easy to remove the sprig before serving, and it leaves a very nice subtle flavor.

    How is your garden coming along? Did spring finally arrive?
    Susan

  3. Yes, it is warm here today. It will get cooler again, but there is definitely promise in the air today.

Leave a Reply

