susansflowers

garden ponderings

Red Azalea

Leave a comment

Red Azalea

I love to see an azalea in full bloom, all you can see is the flowers as they hide all of the leaves.

This particular plant had been heavily pruned by the local marauding deer. It has been maybe 10 years that this shrub has been fenced from the varmits, and I am still thinning the inside to encourage growth on select branches. Perhaps if I had cut more extensively in the beginning, the plant could have grown more evenly. But my cuts are conservative, as I have tried hard to keep this bush thriving. It now has sweet woodruff, bergenia and violets at its base, as I keep amending the surrounding soil.

Author: susanpots

potter, gardener of flowers and vegies

Leave a Reply

