susansflowers

garden ponderings

Lily of the Valley

Leave a comment

Lily of the Valley

I keep wanting to share photos of more tulips and then another plant starts to bloom. So many flowers, so few days…

I don’t remember planting these where I took this photo. There is a good-size bed of these flowers on another side of the house, so I’m not sure how these showed up where they did. I know that birds can spread flower seeds to different areas, but this flower spreads underground, thus the thick bed of them between a couple of birch trees. The bed of lilies-of-the valley is in an area that gets very wet in the rainy season, then very hot and dry in the summer. They are fenced from varmits, but I read they are toxic. Obviously, the animals do not read the same gardening books that I do.

Author: susanpots

potter, gardener of flowers and vegies

Leave a Reply

