susansflowers

garden ponderings

Species tulips

Leave a comment

Species tulips

I love the soft pink on the outside of the petals, that frames the inside white petal color. The flowers look so delicate.

This type of tulip are usually the first to bloom. Species tulips are not hybrids, they are what was/is found in the wild (as I understand). They are not long lasting blooms, and not particularly good as cut flowers. But they do come back every year, are great color in a spring garden and easy to care for. The biggest hazard is forgetting where they are planted and cutting a bulb with a shovel – instant death.

I thought I had more of this style planted around the yard, but this is all I can verify to myself. There are many varieties and colors available. My source for great bulbs is John Scheepers Bulbs in Connecticut. They also have a separate wholesale bulb company, but you have to order 50 or 100 of a particular bulb or color of bulb, so I don’t do that. The John Scheepers catalog is beautiful, and I strongly recommend it for flower bulb connoisseurs.

Author: susanpots

potter, gardener of flowers and vegies

Leave a Reply

